Musicals

The musical ‘King of New York’ will be decided by this March Madness bracket

Hello all I’m back again dishing on the latest Broadway news! Today I’ll be doing a bit of a fun post about the Third Annual Broadway Brackets Championship that’s being put on by Playbill. This started on March 21st, and it’s Playbill’s version of a Broadway March Madness. I missed the first round of voting, but there were some great shows up against each other. I’ll put a link to the first article here and the current one here so that y’all can vote on the newest one and help determine a winner!

I’ll preface this post by saying that I know only a little about March Madness. I know there are teams, I think basketball, that are all in different categories and then they play and winners go on to the next bracket. I also know that around this time every year there are tons of brackets for all different types of things, movies, TV shows, foods, you name it you can probably find a March Madness bracket for it. I think it’s fun to see where things stack up against each other, it gives another level to your interests. So keeping my limited knowledge in mind, let’s get on with the show!

For the first round there were some great contenders, Wicked vs. Gypsy, in which Wicked won by a landslide, the next was Spring Awakening vs. In The Heights where In The Heights won by a smaller margin. There was Jersey Boys vs. West Side Story (the 2009 revival) in which West Side Story also won by a large margin, and finally there was Spamalot vs. American Idiot in which American Idiot only just inched past Spamalot to win the category. I think that these are really fun because you get to see how popular musicals are in a fun way.

The second round went live on March 21st and closed on March 25th at 12pm Eastern. The musicals that were up against each other were Hamilton vs. The Color Purple, Kinky Boots vs. Once, Dear Evan Hansen vs. The Band’s Visit, and The Book of Mormon vs. Beautiful. When I wrote this on Monday the 25th the voting was still open and the winners hadn’t been decided yet, but it was pretty clear to me. My predictions for winners are Hamilton, Kinky Boots, Dear Evan Hansen, and Book of Mormon, but those aren’t confirmed when I’m writing, so we’ll just have to wait and see. I’m very excited to see what the next round entails, and hopefully I’ll continue this until there’s a clear winner, which with such good shows I think is going to get tough starting soon.

That’s all I have for today, leave me a comment below and let me know how you think your favorite musical would stand up in March Madness! Also if anyone wants me to write about something in particular just let me know, I’m always open to suggestions! Until next time sing loud, dance hard, and love Broadway!

Leave a comment