Broadway News · Disney · Musicals

‘Reindeer(s) [or snowmen] Are Better Than People’

Hello all! I’m back again to share the latest news with everyone about my favorite topic, Disney on Broadway! I’ve mentioned in a previous blog post about the presence that Disney has in the Broadway community, and this time I’m talking specifically about Frozen. Mainly because there have been some cast changes that I’m super excited about! As I was looking through last week’s new stories I noticed a story from Theatre Mania that caught my eye about Olaf in the musical. I’ll preface this by saying I think that the original Olaf, Josh Gad, was amazing, and from what I can tell from the cast recording the original Broadway Olaf is equally as amazing! However recently, actually written about on March 25th, there’s officially a female Olaf!!! Yes you’ve heard that right, a woman is finally getting to step into the shoes, or I guess icicles of our favorite snow person.

The article that’s linked above is an interview with Ryann Redmond as she talks about learning she was cast as Olaf and some of the amazing moments that she’s had along the way. My favorite part of the interview is when Ryann said “I got a message on Instagram from a mom the other day. Her daughter is doing Frozen Jr. at her school and she wanted to be Olaf, but she said, “Mom, I can’t be Olaf.” And her mom showed her my Instagram and she lit up. It’s cool that I get to be part of that.” because I think it really just epitomizes the experience of breaking the mold for all the performers to follow. It’s so special to have a woman playing a male role because it’s different and new, and I think that’s what Broadway is all about! It’s about being inclusive and welcoming to all people, and I love that this is being shown on the Broadway stage and community!

Another reason Frozen is getting some press lately is because they’re turning 1! They’ve officially spent an entire year on Broadway and it honestly doesn’t look like they’re stopping anytime soon. Some new pictures were released from the production as well as the party to celebrate a year, and I’ll post some cool ones down below with links to the articles here and here in case you want to look at more of these amazing pictures!

Kristoff and Sven looking amazing as usual, I love the Sven puppet, it’s so intricate!
I’ve always wanted a photo like this, and I love looking at it so much!
Ryan Redmond as Olaf, and honestly she looks so natural in the role
Happy one year party with some of the characters! Plus that cake is on point!!

That’s all I have for today! Are there any other shows that you know that are breaking the mold? Leave me a comment below and let me know! Until next time, sing loud, dance hard, and love Broadway!

One thought on “‘Reindeer(s) [or snowmen] Are Better Than People’

  1. I have been dying to see Frozen since it came to the stage. That might happen next year- the US Tour is launching in Fall, and in October of next year, Charlotte is getting the musical. Out of all musicals that are coming to my hometown in the upcoming season, Frozen is at the top of the list.

    Like

Leave a comment