Broadway News · Musicals

Loving the coat that’s ‘red and yellow and green and brown…’

Hello all, I’m finally back again to spread some Broadway cheer and news. Today I wanted to look at an article that I found that was pretty cool in terms of Broadway traditions. For this article it was all about the Legacy Robe that goes around on Broadway. So if you don’t quite know what the Legacy Robe is, it’s a robe that gets passed to the newest show on Broadway for their opening night to the ensemble member with the most Broadway credits. Basically meaning the ensemble member who’s done the most shows thus far. It also used to be called the Gypsy Robe until the name was changed I think in the summer of 2018. I’ve seen in some Broadway vlogs of shows that open and what the little ceremony is like, and it’s so cute and the actors are all so excited about it, it’s a huge honor to get it.

So the article that I found is relating to the patches that are on the Legacy Robe. Apparently there are patches on the robe from all of the current shows on Broadway, and Mean Girls is looking for a designer. The ensemble member from Mean Girls, Brendon Stimson is going to pick 5 finalists from artwork submitted and then fans of the show will choose the winner! I think this is a really cool thing because it gets the fans directly involved in the show and it’s a fun thing to look at the artwork! The submission is all through direct message so there isn’t any art to look at yet, but on April 29 the finalists will be posted on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter and people can vote on their favorites. I can’t wait to see what all of the artists of Broadway come up with!

I’ve put some pictures below of the clearest pictures I could find of the robe, but it’s always changing, so it probably looks different today.

So that’s all that I have for today! Let me know if you’re going to enter for the Legacy Robe patch, or if you have a local version of this tradition! Until next time, sing loud, dance hard, and love Broadway!!

Leave a comment